Funded by

David Docherty

David Docherty is Chief Executive of the National Centre for Universities and Business, and Chairman of the Digital Television Group, the industry body for digital television in the UK.

He was the first BBC Director of New Media and Deputy Managing Director of BBC Television. After leaving the BBC he led cable company Telewest’s (now Virgin’s) drive into broadband content and services as MD Broadband, and has been Chief Executive of two television and interactive media companies.

In the public sector, he was Chair of Governors of the University of Bedfordshire, and a member of various government advisory panels on new media, technology, and higher education. He serves on the Research Excellence Framework Panel and the Strategically Important and Vulnerable Subjects Committees for the Higher Education Funding Council of England (HEFCE) as well as HEFCE’s Enterprise and Skills Committee. He is on the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC’s) Digital Economy Panel, the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC’s) Creative Economy Board and the Technology Strategy Board (TSB’s) Interim Advisory Board for the Digital Economy Catapult.

David’s other activities include serving on the Steering Groups of DESCRIBE, The Future of Innovation in Television Technology Taskforce (FITT), and Going Global 2013, and serving on the Panels of REF 2014 and the Space Advisory Panel. He is also a member of the National HE Stem Programme Advisory Forum, the UK~IRC Advisory Board, the Universities UK Employability Business and Industry Policy Network, and the Gateway to Research project board.

He has served on the management board of The Society of Authors, written extensively on media and technology convergence for the Guardian, the Financial Times and other national newspapers and is in regular demand as a speaker at the world’s leading media and education conferences. David has senior level experience as a member of the BBC’s Board of Management, Telewest’s Executive Board, YooMedia and CSC Media Board, and as Chairman of the University of Bedfordshire.